John & Ashli – Destination Wedding Photography

John and Ashli .. where do I even begin? As many of you know, I recently got back from a trip photographing their destination wedding in the Dominican.  This was such a great experience, and so SO much fun. The couple was married at Catalonia Gran Dominicus resort, in the small town of La Romana. Lucky for me, I got to enjoy this beautiful trip, along with meet some amazing people and have the vacation of a lifetime.

You may recognize the bride and groom from a previously blogged engagement session, where we spent the day getting to know eachother over Baileys (for John), autumn leaves,  and lots of talk about the big day (Ashli). Not to mention a countdown of days until takeoff — which, at the time, was somewhere around 90..

Although our flight down was delayed by an hour or so, we finally arrived in the Dominican! I think I can speak for everyone when I say that we were completely blown away at how awesome the resort turned out to be. A few things that did it for me included: the all day/night stone-baked-serve-yourself pizza, the all day beach buffet that served CHEESE FRIES(!!), a popcorn maker at the bar (those who know me will understand), a hut on the beach that served crepes all afternoon, tons of fish swimming around the man-made coral at the end of the beach, a wicked New Year’s eve party, and finally, a male member of the animation team who dolled himself up as Lady Gaga and put on a performance at the disco. This is only the beginning of a long list of things and people that made this resort so amazing. The staff were so friendly and worked so hard to make this place beautiful.

Ashli, John, family and friends..thank you for including us as part of your group for the week. We had an AMAZING time, and all you guys were so much fun!

Here are some of my favourite photos from the trip, and I hope you all like em! There are quite a few, but I think they’re a lot of fun.

-B

& my personal favourite ..

Leave a Reply

